#6 FriendZoned

 

“Say something I’m giving up on you…”

The most appropriate song to describe that stab wound in your heart that being Friend-zoned makes.

Friend-zoned: (condition) Being declared as “Just Friends and nothing beyond” by a friend (mostly best friend).

Common Identifiers:

  • The phrase “I never thought about you that way.”
  • The phrase “I used to feel that way but I got over it.”
  • The phrase “Don’t let this ruin our friendship.”
  • Ignorance by the friend
  • The friend remaining aloof
  • The friend never noticing you no matter how much you try
  • Your friend talking about other men/women like they are in love
  • If they say they aren’t ready, they never will be.

Diagnosis: If any of the above symptoms are observed, you have been Friend-Zoned. Other symptoms might also appear, unique to every friendship. Such diagnosis is hardest to perform.

Treatment: The only treatment available for this condition is Realization. The moment you realize you have been friend-zoned you automatically revert to a recovery process. In some cases the recovery starts after a while, sometimes weeks or months later. Such recovery processes are usually triggered by an event which is commonly a reminder of the Friend-zoning. As an example, my own recovery process started after almost 2 years of being friend-zoned. It is not an alarming situation, however, the sooner, the better.

Recovery: The recovery process may take weeks, months or years depending on the individual. I don’t really know what the recovery process is like, however, I can tell that it makes you want to stay away from your friend. You might talk to them the same way, text them or chat occasionally but you would want to ignore seeing them as much as you can.

They say “Silence is a woman’s loudest cry.” I wonder how men cry. I wonder if they cry at all. But my theory is they cry to themselves, tearless. You keep waiting… they might say something… they just don’t. Never.

“And I would swallow my pride… You’re the one that I love and I’m saying goodbye.

Say something I’m giving up on you…
I’m sorry that I couldn’t get to you,
And anywhere I would’ve followed you.
Say something I’m giving up on you…

Say something…”

-A Great Big World

2 thoughts on “#6 FriendZoned

Leave a Reply

